I want this movie NOW!!!

Richard Linklater’s Me and Orson Welles which reconstructs the famous Mercury Theatre production of Julius Caesar and sets it in a Fascist country. The guy who plays Welles, Christian MacKay, looks right (for the pre-Kane Welles) and Claire Danes is luminous as ever. I am not sure about Zac Efron, but we will see.

Gakked from AICN

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I want this movie NOW!!!

  1. Well, their production of “Julius Caesar” was set in a Fascist country.

  2. natalie_456 says:

    wow, I’m sold. Looks great.

  3. olivia_circe says:

    OMG ME TOO. So, when does it come out?

  4. calimac says:

    “Cradle Will Rock” is one of my most frequently re-watched movies, and Angus Macfadyen’s Welles is a large part of what makes it so much fun. The script for this one clearly makes Welles as extravagant as he was there, so I hope this actor is equally as up for the task.

    And Claire Danes looks period. Good for her.

  5. selenak says:

    Having read Simon Callow’s vivid account of that particular production, I can’t wait, either, with the caveat that I was somewhat dissapointed of Tim Robbins’ account of The Cradle Will Rock. (So far, the best film about both a Welles production and about Welles is to my mind RKO 281 with Liev Schreiber as Welles.

    I wonder who Zac Efron is supposed to be – the actor playing Cinna the Poet would be my guess, because that scene became the key of the entire production according to Callow, and he quotes the guy at length.

  6. crowleycrow says:

    The one glimpse of the production on stage seemed wrong: The “Nuremburg lights” that were a feature of the production (Nazi-style political-theater staging derived from Leni riefenstahl’s Nuremburg rally footage) are shining down, not up from the floor, as I have seen them in old drawings and photos.

  7. stevegreen says:

    I’ve always had a soft spot for the “Welles” cameo in Ed Wood, courtesy Vincent D’Onofrio.

Leave a Reply

