More on Tatchell

Del Grace has reprinted an argument against Peter Tatchell by Sara Ahmed in my Facebook here and I think it worth addressing. I don’t for a second think my reply is impeccable and I am sure that it is open to various sorts of accusation of fail. I think though that it is a conversation that we clearly need to be having.

So, go read the Ahmed piece, and my response.

I’d like to apologize for the fact that I mis-spelled Sara’s first name.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More on Tatchell

  1. redbird says:

    I think both she, and you, have made reasonable points here. And I answered Zander Nyrond, who is missing Sara’s point in ways that I think are a good example of the problems she’s talking about.

    • rozkaveney says:

      You are right, up to a point, but I think that Sara Ahmed is wrong nonetheless. We just have to strive for absolute precision in order to avoid our thought being contaminated by right-wing assumptions.

      We also have to avoid ego and malice – I think that the original essay failed on both those counts.

      • Anonymous says:

        Sorry Roz your PC-dar had gone on the blink there; surely we do not want our thinking contaminated by any assumptions. Lunacy (and malice) is not confined to any part of the political spectrum,

        Graham

      • rozkaveney says:

        That’s true, of course, but the accusation I was addressing directly was that of being influenced by the Right. Nonetheless, your point stands.

  2. Anonymous says:

    That page you linked to is only accessible to Facebook residents (or some subset thereof).

    While I’m here: if you know anyone still looking for a Dreamwidth account, there are lots of invite codes for the taking on http://dw-codesharing.dreamwidth.org; and free accounts now get 15 icons instead of 6.

Leave a Reply

