Someone on the Comment is Free website

accused me of intellectual arrogance. So I committed a response, thus…

If there’s something ineffable and vast
fate-writing, sin-contemning, it is past
a human brain’s capacity to know,
to hold in sight. And some of us will go

humbled to others’ books, as if they knew,
as if they could know, more than me or you.
The Bible, the Koran, the Tao te Ching
all Hubbard’s followers, or Wiccans, sing

second-hand poetry. I’ll buy bespoke
I speak in jest Not wholly. All you folk
who think me proud, consider motes and beams.
You’d put your god in a small box. It seems

that’s pride, as if your evening cup of tea
could model, could contain, the raging sea.

I really am an agnostic and not an atheist, which is something people don’t entirely get about me.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Someone on the Comment is Free website

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love the last two lines.

  2. redbird says:

    Any objection to my linking this on my LJ/Dreamwidth?

  3. firecat says:

    Here via and all I can say is that writing a sonnet is inherently the perfect response to an accusation of intellectual arrogance.

    Also it’s a really good sonnet.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Intellectual Arrogance

    And why should you not be intellectually arrogant? – you have much to be arrogant about – and we know how to deflate it too – which you always readily acknowlege with a laugh,

    Graham

Leave a Reply

