A poem of childhood

Hammersmith 1955

Pork, onion, sage and sawdust tweaked my nose.
Veal and ham pies – I wondered how they’d taste.
A crowded butcher’s. Somehow I misplaced
my parents. When a sudden panic rose

I didn’t cry. I knew that I was six
and had a baby sister now. I ran
along the street, and when some helpful man
offered his help, ran faster, knew the tricks

of strangers. Stopped, knew that I knew the way
and plodded home, two miles. My parents cried.
when I got there. They had been terrified
And I was not. Appalled and thrilled that day

learned I could lose them, that when I had grown
I’d have to find my home again alone.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A poem of childhood

  1. crowleycrow says:

    love the couplet, and the discovery of those last three words together, so naturally, yet so resonant.

Leave a Reply

