CATULLUS 13

You’ll dine well, Fabullus, round at my place
if it’s convenient, in a few days.
Just bring some takeaway, perhaps Chinese
with rice and noodles. Chopsticks, if you please.

Also a pretty girl; it would be good
of you to bring some wine or beer.We could
play Cluedo, or Monopoly, or chess,
if you could bring them round. There’s wilderness

and winds and cobwebs in my wallet now
and little else. But I can tell you how
I will reward you, if you’re kind. I’ve got
some perfume my girl brought me. Just a spot

will drive you wild. There’s musk in it, and rose.
One whiff will make you pray to be all nose.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

