CATULLUS 31

You shining jewel of islands, Sirmio,
and of peninsulas! Across the sea,
in other lands and lakes, there cannot be
a place that can compare at all. I’m so

glad to be safely back. I can’t believe
Bithynia’s behind me. You’re a cure
for care and duties – I am very sure
the gods of hearth and home will soon relieve

my stress. To lie at home in my own bed
is what I’ve worked and dreamed and traveled for
these weary months. And there is nothing more,
a man could want. Now, tinkling in my head

I hear your wavelets lapping, laughing too.
Blessed place, blessed lake, blessed me for having you.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CATULLUS 31

  1. anef says:

    I’ve always been fond of this one. I think your version is excellent.

Leave a Reply

