CATULLUS 30

Alfenus, you neglect and cheat your friends;
I needed help – you shunned me – I’d been good
to you, who have betrayed me. Heaven should
bring all fair-weather friends to sticky ends

And will. In what friends can men place their trust
when I have trusted you, who told me that
you were my loving friend? You dumped me flat
when I was wretched, who once said I must

rely on you above all else. You may
treat oaths as clouds the winds break up, erase
me from your mind and never leave a trace.
The gods remember broken trust. One day

Good Faith herself will rattle at your door
and it’s with her you’ll settle up the score.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

