CATULLUS 46

Now spring will drive harsh winter’s cold away;
and howling gales shrink to a gentle breeze.
In Phrygia you either burn or freeze,
so take your leave, Catullus, go and play

in Asia’s cities. It’s the time of year
when we’re all on the move. So friends, let’s go
our separate ways. We’ll meet again, I know,
once we get home, just as we met out here.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CATULLUS 46

  1. swisstone says:

    As you may have spotted, I’ve just done a mammoth catch-up on these. I am enjoying them more and more. Not only are they good poems (and bugger anyone at the TLS who thinks differently), but they have also made me go and look at Catullus in a way I haven’t for nearly twenty years. I look forward to the publication. (You must be nearly halfway though by now? Though you haven’t tackled many of the long poems yet – I look forward to 64, which I was referring to in class yesterday.)

    • rozkaveney says:

      I am actually dreading the longer poems in general because I am going to have to find new voices for them in a way that didn’t apply with the Varus poem and the prayer to the gods to be rid of love, or even Hortalus…And then there is 4 that bloody poem about the yacht…

Leave a Reply

