Eurydice in Hades

She thought that it was nice of him to care
enough to come for her. She wished he’d ask
whether she wanted to go back. The task
of being grateful just too much to bear

and getting used to air and wind and sun.
She liked it in the dark without loud breath
and heartbeat to disturb; had not liked death
enough to go through it again. No one

should ask that of her.It’s not just the pain-
it’s letting go and falling into black
into what seems the end because you lack
the language to describe it in a brain

that learns new pleasures. Now to be polite
she’ll have to give up all the joys of night.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. selenak says:

    Your Orpheus sequence remains awesome. This take on Eurydice’s reaction reminds me a bit of Rilke’s in (“Orpheus. Eurydice. Hermes” – only he is even more extreme; when Hermes says “he turned around”, Eurydice nearly replies “who?”), but you have a lighter, more personal voice for her, corresponding with the one none being too thrilled over her mother-in-law one in the earlier poem.

    • rozkaveney says:

      I am very carefully staying away from Rilke righr now – and have been doing ever since I seriously started writing verses again. I know we have some of the same preoccupations and that he is a rich clear voice I need not to have influencing me.

      I am letting myself read Yeats and Hardy (and Kipling, Houseman, Millay and Plath) but mostly staying away from the Victorians and English Romantics.

      It’s odd – I never feel the need to keep away from other writers when I am working on prose.

  2. anef says:

    This is really good.

  3. ffutures says:

    Maybe she and Buffy were in the same afterlife?

  4. geekyisgood says:

    I admit that I don’t often read your poems but I adore this one. I particularly like the bit about being polite.

Leave a Reply

