Hades speaks

‘I took your wife’ said Hell, ‘because she died.
She died because she fled the Satyr. Chaste
and faithful to your bed. I find the taste
of faithful wives the same as those who lied

when I swallow them down. For all things fall
into my mouth. A few things I will take
-my wife for instance – just for whimsy sake.
I am not fair or comforting at all

I simply am. I don’t insult the dead
by softening the brutal facts. Things end.
I’m there to take them, not to be their friend
Only deluded fools are comforted.

And poets. ‘ Orpheus smiled, strummed, sang aloud.
He’d often done well with a tougher crowd.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

