My body is far older than my skin
In lots of places, it’s gone way past sag
I wish I thought my beauty was within.

I know that vanity is called a sin
I should be grateful that I’m not a hag
My body is far older than my skin.

My hernia juts like a cooling fin
I try to hide it with a shoulder bag
I wish I thought my beauty was within.

My creaking knee makes an appalling din
And if I dance or run it starts to nag
My body is far older than my skin.

My hair’s not silver – it is more like tin.
I wear a wig or wrap it in a rag
I wish I thought my beauty was within

Some people would just soak themselves in gin
Or drive around in an expensive Jag.
My body is far older than my skin
I wish I thought my beauty was within.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. singinglark says:

    I think I adore this poem.

    We all wish we thought so, and the world keeps telling us, not true, not true. But it is, it’s just impossible to believe about ourselves. About others, maybe so…

  2. cmcmck says:

    :o)

    ‘Creaking knee’? Oh yes, I KNOW that one! Motorcycle smash in my mid thirties saw to that. Thank you, white van man……..

  3. Oh, you speak so eloquently for so many of us. Thank you.

  4. ffutures says:

    Yup. None of us getting any younger.

  5. the_maenad says:

    I can’t comment on all of your poems which I love (and that is the vast majority) but this one is outstanding even measured by your normal high standards. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

