Trying to make things clear about me and poetry

Misrepresented

The woman that I love? She isn’t you
Although she has your dark curls in my head.
When people read the hurt words that I’ve said
And call you cruel, tell them it isn’t true

that you said some harsh crass unfeeling thing
It wasn’t you, it was that bitch my muse.
I don’t have to be sad, to sing the blues.
Nor be in love, exactly, when I sing

Love unrequited, love on which I’ll pass –
a useful fiction. It is poetry
that gets me wet. Be flattered when I lie,
imply it’s you. Your cheekbones and firm arse

win you reward that’s better than a kiss
Deathless with Laura, Lesbia, Beatrice.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying to make things clear about me and poetry

  1. cakmpls says:

    I don’t have to be sad, to sing the blues.
    Nor be in love, exactly, when I sing

    Love unrequited,

    OOF! [Sound of me being punched in metaphorical stomach by poetry. This is a good thing.]

Leave a Reply

