More Hitchens

4 Drinking Song of the Lands of Evening

Happy is good, oblivion is best
to soothe the arguments within my brain.
Drink, fall asleep, full wineglass on my chest.

Either hang out with rich boys I detest
who lust for me, whose worldview I disdain
Sodomy’s good, oblivion is best

Or left-wing girls, who never get a jest,
whose feminism strikes me as insane
Drink, fall asleep, full wineglass on my chest

My mother killed herself; her note confessed
she’d miss me, not enough though to remain
Alive for good; oblivion is best.

The books I love were written in the West.
I fear for them; our power is on the wane.
Drink, fall asleep, full wineglass on my chest.

I changed my politics and that distressed
old friends who claim I sold my soul for gain.
Drink, fall asleep, full wineglass on my chest.
New friends are good, oblivion is best.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Hitchens

  1. marydell says:

    My heavens, this is so extremely good.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Unhappy lad

    Drink soaked Trotskyite
    Blame the mother not the dad.
    Christoper Hitchens

Leave a Reply

