Another

6. He foresees his end

I knew that they would kill me in the end
They paced my writing, kept me short of time.
A cigarette is better than a friend.

I watched smoke from my mouth drift, rise, curve, bend
One sure peace in a world noisy with crime
I knew that they would kill me in the end.

More elegant than the best words I’ve penned
they marked the hours as sure as any chime
A cigarette is better than a friend

I knew I must pay back the peace they lend
a due note as inevitable as rhyme
I knew that they would kill me in the end

My work, the part of me I wish to send,
down time, dissolves like smoke, or flesh in lime
A cigarette is better than a friend

They did me damage medicine can’t mend.
Their friendly smoke has filled my throat with grime
A cigarette is better than a friend
I knew that they would kill me in the end.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow. I’m a perfect stranger, but I just wanted to say that that’s a very lovely poem

Leave a Reply

