And a more cheerful one

Fidelity

Your hair in bunches, lipstick baby pink
vestigial shorts pulled tight against your bum.
Lollipop simper. Lightly hovering thumb
against pink lips. But do not ever think

that air quotes are not there. You’re so perverse
Wholesome becomes just fetish. Those who lust
for your twelve-hole doc martens will adjust
follow you drooling still. So, go. Rehearse

A thousand girly ways, abandon butch
but do not hope to lose us. We’ll be true
follow you round. We’ll stalk you in a queue.
Smiling, your cynical wry grin will touch

our cheek as if you slapped us. Blushing red
we’ll ponder how this all plays out in bed

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And a more cheerful one

  1. valeriekeefe says:

    Well that was lovely.

    • rozkaveney says:

      I am very grateful that the transphobes are such philistines that they never read my poems….

      • valeriekeefe says:

        Well, if they had an illegitimate name to throw at you, or you were a little less lithe, perhaps.

      • rozkaveney says:

        Oh I am not nearly as lithe as my icon and minimal research would give them my earlier name because I’ve never been fussed to suppress it. I really don’t know why I am not more of a hate figure for them – Bindel dislikes me and Brennan periodically does drive by attacks on my twitter feed, but nothing more than that.

        After all, I reviewed Raymond when her book came out; I helped found Feminists Against Censorship; I have been part of the trans fightback against them for thirty-some years. I really am the evil trans woman of their nightmares.

      • valeriekeefe says:

        It’s not that I suppress it, it’s that I refuse to utter it… but yes, I suppose it’s a sign that I’m doing something right.

        Also, I saw a Christmas picture of you, elsewhere, and you look nice, not that that should matter, you write beautifully and you’re brilliant and how pretty you are shouldn’t matter, but… you definitely do make me want to discuss the finer points of the legitimacy or lack thereof of Hitchens’ position on humanitarian intervention over some Ballantines whilst in your presence on a visceral as well as intellectual level.

        [/politicalnerdflirting]

      • rozkaveney says:

        Oh we will meet and flirt one of these days – I do wish that we all got funding for charging around being trans activists the way some groups do…I actually think a lot of rad fems would be so much happier if they had discovered nerdiness when young.

      • valeriekeefe says:

        Well, if we get a per-capita GDP linked guaranteed income, I might be able to justify a flight… until then, I remain a Albertan, ultra-red-tory, Anglophile (save for the Irish question) of Irish and Polish decent.

        … wow I’m a political schizophrenic when I write it out like that.

Leave a Reply

