National Poetry Day

Muse2

I don’t know muses when I see them first –
peck cheeks in passing maybe, sometimes smile
at dazzling eyes, lush hair or witty bile
against shared enemies. There is a thirst

for more of them that grows, sometimes takes years.
I do not know them yet, yet elegance
of thought attaches to them when by chance
I think of them again. Their face appears

in dreams and I awake with half a line
that grows and changes. Words fresh on my lips
I did not put there. These relationships
bring genius to me that is not mine

Nor theirs. Lust that alchemically sublimes
to love perhaps, or friendship – always rhymes.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Poetry Day

  1. cmcmck says:

    I had to be reminded what day it was!

  2. debg says:

    I’ve only been a muse for one poem that I know of: Sandra Larkin’s beautiful villanelle that begins “The haunted woman rises from her bed”. I’ve inspired at least one song that I know of.

    I would love to be someone’s muse again, however briefly. It’s deeply pleasing.

Leave a Reply

