More

Muse6

A verse that swaggers, kisses on the lips
almost to bruising, walks on, then looks back,
each quatrain part seduction, part attack
each couplet ending in a sly ellipsis

hinting consummation. Not my style
and not what I would want. And yet I yearn.
Verse that cries out ‘my love, look how I burn
to ash for you’ may weary in a while

Bad girls get all the fun. I know that’s true
I’ve loved the mad and bad and have the scars,
have kissed their whips, been dragged behind their cars
known pain that I would never wish on you

though if you wish, could recall and rehearse
their braggart tricks in new salacious verse.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More

  1. lokifan says:

    This is gorgeous! D’you mind if I include it in my poetry month posts?

Leave a Reply

