I wake up breathing hard, and there is sweat
there in the hollow of my back. The kiss
left me so taut. I need to take a piss
but still I throb. Of course I will forget

all details of the woman in my dream.
I know what she was like – they’re all the same
too young crazy or beautiful. Their name
may vary – not the way their hair would gleam

seen on a pillow. Women who are real
quite as impossible. Love’s the mistake
that makes us fools, the hard thing that we break
our sense of self upon. I want to feel

that gorgeous pain, yet most affairs I’ve had
balanced delight with going almost mad.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

