THE POET TO HER YOUNG COMRADES 7

It’s you instruct me. All I do is tell
you what I’ve learned. Perhaps I summarize.
You need to know what I’ve seen through your eyes
that we can use. My generation fell

Comfort seduced us. This time they’ll use fear
to break you into bits, devour you whole.
Each of us has a kapo in their soul
to do their work. And some will disappear

At random, just to keep you on your toes.
I’m old and toothless. I will write things down
you’ve told me, hold your words here, when you drown.
They are not quite as smart as they suppose

Some of us whom they thought they’d bought and sold
find something left of rebel when we’re old.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

