THE POET IN HER SIXTY FIFTH YEAR

I count my years. Like coins that I would spend.
And neither hoard nor waste. My drooping purse
like ageing flesh goes slowly bad to worse
Yet nothing seems quite ready for the end.

Most days are bright as stones. Wrapped in gold wire.
My glory friends dance round me. Word by word
they come to me so lush, sometimes absurd
this flood of language. Some day I will tire

but this was not that day. Spice, pizza, sun.
Protection racket hiss of urban geese.
Bustle of market. There’s a sort of peace
that goes with crowds. I feel I’ve just begun

to love this world, this work. My heart won’t break
to leave if I am bold, live wide awake.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE POET IN HER SIXTY FIFTH YEAR

  1. makd says:

    Happy Birthday!

  2. elisem says:

    Oh, Roz. Happy birthday!

  3. snaky_poet says:

    Wonderful! And yes, have a Happy Birthday. 🙂

  4. cmcmck says:

    Sounds like it was a goodun. I did leave you a hippo birdie on the day! :o)

  5. juggzy says:

    I do love your poetry. I know you’re doing the alive thing here, but it often springs from sadness. You don’t need to say its so to make it so; you really do speak to people.

Leave a Reply

