Some tweets about the word gender

I have no particular interest in replying to any of the anti-trans self-called ‘radical’ feminists. However, one of them came, in spite of their perpetual whittering about respecting boundaries, into my time-line on twitter this morning in order to harangue me and so I was provoked into replying, briefly.

Elizabeth Hungerford, co=author of a submission to the UN asking for the exclusion of gender identity from protection, said this

Exactly, #nosubstance! @RozKaveney has lots of words but refuses to address that naturalizing GENDER HURTS WOMEN. #gendercrit4life

I was irritated and so replied as follows

No substance? One of the many words I have is gender, a word with many meanings and nuances all of which we inhabit.
Radical Feminism tries to impose a single meaning on a fluid word and impoverish language and life, and endanger women.
However, transexuality has very little to do with any meaning of gender save people’s sense of embodiment in physical sex.
Being trans is not about social role or choice of partner or occupation or collaboration with kyriarchy in its patriarchal mode
Trans rights are about the human right to feel at ease in one’s own skin. And you would deny that for a theoretical position.
You and your allies are bullies and liars.You are also like other bigots, losing an argument we no longer need to have with you
It’s weird to wake up and find people who go on about boundaries trespassing all over my timeline.
TERFs chose long ago to refuse debate on equal terms. You do not have the right to unpaid access to my time. Go away.

That’s an elegant enough formulation of my position that I think I should post it here as well and on Facebook. She won’t be able to complain about evasion any longer. She and her friends will doubtless invade here and on FB to yell at me.

I repeat, they are not welcome there.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Some tweets about the word gender

  1. jessie_c says:

    They even tried to invade and invalidate this with their same old attempts to play Oppression Olympics.

  2. redbird says:

    If she actually believes that naturalizing gender hurts women, she should be on your side: it’s not the existence of trans people, or trans activists, who are naturalizing gender, it’s the huge weight of cisgender voices saying “you can’t do that, and you must be this, because you ARE a woman” and insisting that whether I’m a woman or a man is immutable and obvious to all (or if it’s not, I am doing something wrong).

    • rozkaveney says:

      Identity is a club she gets to police; identity is the club she gets to hit people over the head with.

      Bah, she wastes time thinking about her.

    • cakmpls says:

      That’s what I’ve thought, too, every time I’ve heard this kind of thing. I figured I must be missing some point, but no, I guess It really IS as stupid as it seems on its face.

  3. cmcmck says:

    Eloquently put.

    Bullies, liars and bigots sums it up and as the victim of childhood bullying and abuse myself, it adds to the reasons why I keep a locked blog and do not go near FB and Twitter. I’m effectively excluded (albeit self excluded) from certain social media by such bullies, liars and bigots.

    • Anonymous says:

      [reposted to fix html tags]
      To me, the quintessential TERF will always be the one woman who, during Camp Trans’s invited meeting with Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival organizers and attendees in the mess tent in 1999, walked to the darkest spot across the road from the tent and repeatedly screamed “YOU’RE RAPING ME! YOU’RE RAPING ME!” at the top of her voice — because of course people with opposing sociopolitical opinions having a calm, orderly discussion in hopes of finding at least some degree of common understanding is 100% equivalent to sexual assault.

      And screaming the word “rape” after dark during a women’s festival is totally cool and could in no way be misinterpreted by or trigger women or girls nearby who had no opinion about or even awareness of the question of whether trans women (and/or trans men and/or people of other genders) ‘should’ be allowed at MWMF…

      Bullying and lying are behaviors inseparable from TERFs’ bigoted mindset, in my experience. :/

  4. I genuinely don’t get this attitude! It’s like opponents of same-sex marriage saying “If gay people get married it will devalue my heterosexual marriage”. My womanhood is not in any way changed or diminished by other people being women too!

    • lil_shepherd says:

      Good analogy.

      You would think, wouldn’t you, that an oppressed group would be sympathetic to other oppressed groups, but no– it’s all “my oppression trumps your oppression.”

  5. cherade9 says:

    Much sympathy love!

  6. hairyears says:

    Thank you: spelling things out clearly is more help than we realise, even among the closest of friends; and always useful for acquaintances, as we only ever see a fraction of the dismal stupidity you’re forced to deal with.

  7. lokifan says:

    a submission to the UN asking for the exclusion of gender identity from protection

    How incredibly chilling. Ugh, transphobic feminists: making feminism less awesome since forever.

Leave a Reply

