A productive evening, though I should be working on the novel

CATULLUS 116

I’ve tried to find a cool and tactful way
to get you off my case. Perhaps to send
Callimachus’s works, just like a friend
would do. I’ve been obsessed with this all day.

His family were founders of Cyrene;
he conquered poetry. You’d like his stuff
Perhaps, though in your work you play so rough.
I know you’ve tried to stitch me up. I’ve seen

your verses whistle past me. And they miss
their target every time. You try in vain.
In vain I try to charm you. It’s a pain.
Apparently you hate me. I’ll say this.

About your satires I don’t give a fuck.
Have some of mine. You’d better learn to duck.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A productive evening, though I should be working on the novel

  1. lokifan says:

    Hahaha. ♥ you and Catullus!

Leave a Reply

