Not a post about the Hugos

The crucial thing about John C. Wright is that he believes that he was saved from a fatal heat attack by direct divine intervention. He believes that he was redeemed from a life of atheistic blasphemy by God’s smart answer to a snide mockery of prayer. He believes that he has had a series of visits by most of the figures of Christian mythology,

Further ” I entered the mind of God and saw the indescribable simplicity and complexity, love, humor and majesty of His thought, and I understood the joy beyond understanding and comprehended the underlying unity of all things, and the paradox of determinism and free will was made clear to me, as was the symphonic nature of prophecy. I was shown the structure of time and space.”

Now, that’s a deal more of a vision than was vouchsafed to most of the great mystics – it leaves Julian of Norwich and Thomas Aquinas in the dust.

I think we can assume that John C. Wright believes himself to be a bit special. Which the Jesuits who taught me taught me to consider spiritual pride.

Apart from the question – why, if you have seen all this, would you want to be complicit in fixing the Hugos? – I am left with the snide mockery of atheists, and the following remark of Christ ‘whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.’

I just try to be polite, but then I am just an agnostic. Wright is supposed to be judging himself by a higher standard.

His first couple of books were sort of promising but I didn’t take to his later ones.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not a post about the Hugos

  1. vschanoes says:

    Hmm. After understanding such eternal mysteries, gaming the Hugos does seem like a bit of a come-down in the world. Is it really the best use of the talent vouchsafed to him?

  2. Hi Roz – bit off topic but I just wanted to let you know I added you as a friend as we both know Simon 🙂 Hope you will add me back (I have been on LJ forever but I’m trying to be more active).

    I have read Wright’s Golden Age series and really enjoyed it. It was difficult getting into it, since there was so much world-building to do when the setting is 10,000 years in the future, but once the story picked up I was carried along to the end and was sad when it was over. I even have a Goodreads review.

    I only heard about the whole Hugos kerfuffle today on the LJ Top Ten, and haven’t really got into it yet, besides a few tabs open to look at tomorrow. Good thing I don’t read books based on awards 😛

    • andrewducker says:

      I also enjoyed the Golden Oecumene trilogy. Until the end, which was nonsense.

      And then felt horribly disappointed when I heard about what he was really like.

  3. andrewducker says:

    Him and Dave Sim both :->

    (And Philip K Dick, and Robert Anton Wilson, although clearly they were both a lot less clear about their Experience.)

    A friend of mine has epilepsy. She described two of the effects that can happen during a seizure as “That desperate need to communicate something which I can’t seem to get a grasp on, much less express. A free-floating sense of significance, which will alight on something in my immediate environment but will move to something else if the first thing fails to be significant in some obvious manner.”

    I feel kinda sad for people whose brains have thrown out a bunch of semi-random information, and they’re tried to use it to rebuild their whole life. More sad for the people that they’re using it to justify saying terrible things to though.

  4. kattahj says:

    When I first heard about his hateful views, I thought, “That name sounds familiar! I think he might have been someone I vaguely liked! Oh no!” But then I realized that I was thinking of John C. Reilly. So that’s fine. John C. Wright can continue to be someone I don’t read or care about.

Leave a Reply

