For Laurie

AFTER APPOLLINAIRE’S Les Attentives

It’s fine. I do not use it anyway.
We all have elbows. These things sometimes break
at just a touch. Don’t worry for my sake.
These things don’t hurt as much as people say.

Do not be silly – it is not your fault.
Your work is touching, sweet and elegant
and its effect on me irrelevant.
I’m fine. Don’t give the matter any thought.

You’ve an appointment and I have a brush.
Once you have gone, I’ll sweep up every shard.
And glue them back together. It’s not hard.
I’ve time, not even slightly in a rush.

Such a small thing, I’ll laugh, you’ll make me start
You knocked it over, but it’s just my heart.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Laurie

  1. That’s just magnificent, Roz. Art and spikes.

  2. casacorona says:

    Deep. That goes very deep. Thank you for writing, thank you for showing us.

Leave a Reply

