I wasn’t sure whether to post this

PIETA

Hours dead. No chance the crabs could eat him. Death
had come by water, as had he. He drowned.
No word or scream. He sank without a sound
but fought in silence to hold one last breath
for one last minute. Then he washed up on the beach
Both shoes on, facing down. His clothes dark wet.
This is the picture we shall not forget.
His body came to land he did not reach.
As image round the world he never saw
A slap to faces that were turned away
And dying thus among us every day.
He is not one, there are a thousand more.
He died that wicked men could win some votes.
May all their lies like brine corrode their throats.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I wasn’t sure whether to post this

  1. gonzo21 says:

    You should be reading it on the news tomorrow night.

  2. shadowkat67 says:

    I don’t see the trigger, but possibly because I’m oblivious to the politics? However, I rather like the poem, a lot. One of your better ones, I think.

    There’s some clever turns of phrase in there, that resonate long after you read them.

    “A slap to faces that were turned away
    And dying thus among us every day”

    It’s simple in its phrasing, yet with layers and depth. Demonstrating how you can use simple phrasing to get across a world of meaning.

    Poetry is not an easy art, and highly subjective, like all things art.

  3. The authenticity and truth of that breaks my heart.
    What will it take to make (more of) Europe act?

  4. cmcmck says:

    Oh yes!

    I’ve just been attacked and insulted and attempts made to silence me by someone I thought I knew on my own blog for posting about this because I was angry and upset.

    Stay classy……..

  5. singinglark says:

    This is brilliant and angry and sad and necessary, and I am in awe of you right now.

  6. Yes, you should have posted this. And you did. Thank you.

  7. tnh says:

    Google image search. Type dead refugee. Keep scrolling down as long as you can stand it.

    The 1% has always liked cheap labor.

Leave a Reply

