MY TDOV POST

In August 1979, when I definitively transitioned, I made a decision to be entirely open about being trans. This was not particularly about being virtuous – I reasoned that at 6 ft 4 I was always liable to be read and that if I wanted to write and review and write reports on novels and television scripts, I was always liable to run into people who had known me at Oxford or at Yorkshire Television.

It also meant that I could write about being trans – this became almost immediately relevant because of the publication of Janice Raymond’s book.

It was consistent with the liberationist politics I had held during my GLF days and with how some of my older friends like Rachel Pollack had chosen to live their lives.

I did not intend it as a rebuke to those of my friends who wanted to live in stealth or who had been chivvied into stealth by their GICs; I was lucky to have a psychiatrist who accepted that my reasoning about my career was valid.

I have never regretted being either trans or visible. Generally, I have the level of acceptance as a woman who happens to be trans that I am comfortable with – occasional idiocies aside…

Plenty of trans people do not have the level of privilege I had and have; you do what life lets you do.

About rozkaveney

Middleaged, trans, novelist, poet, activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MY TDOV POST

  1. Thank you very much for continuing to enlighten, entertain, educate and encourage! My trans*awareness started with Jan Morris’ Conundrum and I haven’t stopped learning. Still working on my language to be welcoming and my assumptions to keep my brain open, and I hope to see you IRL at some point in fandom.

  2. ms_cataclysm says:

    I’m not sure why people would feel that your choice is a rebuke. The personal choices we make about our lives are just that and no more.

Leave a Reply

